How to Add a User to Your Google Analytics Account

It is easy to add new users so that they can view and analyze your website’s traffic in Google Analytics. Here are step by step instructions if  you want to provide a team member or a service provider with access to your Google Analytics account.

Adding A User to Google Analytics

1. Go to google.com/analytics and click on the blue sign in button at the top right:    how to sign in to google analtyics

2. Click on the yellow ADMIN option, and then click on User Management in the Property column. 

Add a user to google analytics

 

3. Enter the email address you want to add, and choose the permissions level. 

user access levels google analtyics

Permission Settings

Manage Users – allows use to add/remove other users. Recommended: only the website owner should have this access, or a trusted service provider. If someone is creating an Analytics account on your behalf, you should ask them to give you this level. If anyone else has this access, they can remove you, so we recommend you sign in to your account and confirm you are the only user with this level.

Edit – this level of access is needed if someone is doing SEO work or linking your analytics to Adwords.

Read, Analyze – this level of access can be provided to team members or service providers so they can view, analyze, and/or report on performance. Examples: social media, online advertising.

Google Analytics Access Troubleshooting

If you try to follow the steps above, and you are not able to sign in to Google Analytics, please check with the service provider who set up your account. Ask them to confirm what email they used to add you as a user.

If you do not see the option to add a user once you sign in to Google Analytics, it probably means your permission setting is not set to the highest level. Contact your service provider and ask them to change your settings to include the ‘manage users’ setting so you have access or to transfer ownership to you. (If your service provider is unable to do this for you, you can ask Google to transfer ownership, but this can be time consuming.) In the worst-case scenario, we can start a new account for you. When Full Serve sets up accounts for clients, we give them the highest level of access, this is part of our service delivery. You’ve paid us to set up the account – in our books, that makes you the owner.

2017-05-23T09:18:39+00:00